SCCM: build and capture with installed updates

<sigh>

Yet again, I’ve been chasing my tail with SCCM. I know my (extremely limited sub-set) Windows 7 updates package was working and downloaded, and deployed etc. I know my Build and Capture was working. But I couldn’t get updates to install as part of the build and capture process. I could build and capture a WORKGROUP machine no problem, because the SYSPREP stage requires WORKGROUP membership. I could build and capture- and update- a domain machine but this would fail to capture because SYSPREP wouldn’t work.

In the end, this link- http://bit.ly/1kWoiJ5 – said it all. Under the “Setup Windows and Configuration Manager” section, just add SMSSLP=yourserver.yourdomain.com under the “Installation properties” section. If the build machine is on the domain, it can use AD/ DNS to locate the SCCM server. If it’s in a workgroup, it needs to be told explicitly where to find services- hence adding the property above. Thanks to Mathias Haas for this, it was driving me around the bend.

UPDATE 15AUG2014:

<sigh>

Yes, this was me being stupid. As this thread explains- http://www.windows-noob.com/forums/index.php?/topic/11126-system-center-configuration-manager-2012-build-and-capture-with-updates-gold-image/- I’d just forgotten to redistribute everything. Seemples.

Leave a Reply

