Nokia Lumia 920 #1

Having had this for a week or 2 now, overall I think it’s the best phone ever (having never seriously used anything other than Nokia myself, but supported iBores etc to an extent). So far, the only gripes are: (a) the contacts are cloud-sync’d. I know this is the fashion these days, but I’m uncomfortable at sending stuff there by default. What if my account gets hacked?; (b) I swear the camera is slightly blurry, but I think maybe it’s just the comparison with my N8, which was phenomenal; (c) no file explorer. I have a ring-tone that’s in the wrong folder in the on-board storage, but apparently can only move it when it’s plugged in to full-Windows box.

Asides from that, it’s a work genius. It’s soooo fast moving about, has a good apps store (tho’ disappointed no-one has written an NTP clock-sync app yet) and just seems really logical getting around (unlike iOS, in my opinion). It comes with Office out-of-the-box, SkyDrive is just a download away and you can choose whether or not to automatically send pictures up to it. The live tiles are cool, but my first suggestion would be to set Battery Saver to always-on. Of course, you don’t get the full WP8, live-tile experience wit this but in all honesty, I don’t need all my mail and contacts sync’d constantly because I’m sat in front of a computer all day, so have much easier ways of checking email. And of course, it has a whole bunch of Nokia apps such as Drive, which is priceless. Find my phone is also worth using- obviously, I haven’t tried the erase option yet but did try the remote lock and that worked beautifully. IE 10 is also blindingly fast- I’ve stopped using other browsers (life’s to short to go around installing Chrome just because it’s not Microsoft and might be nano-seconds faster), but this must be one of the best.

Ergonomically, it’s a dream. It’s big and heavy, but in a satisfying way. It feels solid, not bulky. If you’re worried about the sliperiness some have written about (CNET?) then don’t- just… hold the phone in the way you would for anything that’s the size and weight the Lumia 920 is. It isn’t made of grease, if that is a concern. The screen is crystal clear, and yes, the ultra-sensitive setting for the touch screen really does work even through a pair of thick leather gloves (although I suspect this is a massive battery drain).

Leave a Reply

