Misleading robocopy errors

I frequently tear my hair out with this type of error when using server 2008: (this is a robocopy error run from the CLI)
 
Invalid Parameter #11 : "/log+:X:\xxxxx.log"
 
Before going too far, check to see if you’ve right-click and "Run as administrator"; if the drives aren’t local, "Run as administrator won’t take over any network drive mappings, even though you’re running it as the same user.
 
I can appreciate server 2008 is a lot more secure than previous versions, but I think it suffers from Vista-esque security overkill sometimes.
One thought on “Misleading robocopy errors

  1. Cheers – I had a problem like this with a Scheduled Task. I believe turning off UAC would fix my issue, but in the end I set it to run as Administrator with Highest Privileges selected.

Leave a Reply

